Monday, December 16, 2013
Peacock Lane Fail
I love Peacock Lane. I love Christmas lights in general but Peacock Lane is one of my favorites. Its this great street in Southeast Portland where every house on the block does these fantastic light displays. Love it. So last week I rounded up some friends and decided we would do dinner and Peacock Lane one evening with our families. So our friends (who are also neighbors which is awesome) came over for spaghetti and then we bundled up and headed out. I hadn't bothered looking up info on hours or whatever and just assumed we would be good to go. Not so much. We pulled up and the street was dark. I looked at the clock, it was only 730. Weird right? We drove over and noticed a sign. Opens on the 15th. We were 5 days too early. Cue our nervous, embarrassed laughter. I hate being in charge of planning things out of fear that something like this might happen. I hate being responsible! Our friends got out of their car and we rolled down our windows. We looked at each other and just all laughed. I felt terrible. Lucy was not amused. Quick Plan B, hot chocolate.
We found a Starbucks and hurried in. Hot chocolate makes everything ok. The barista said, "Before you get too comfortable, we close in 15 minutes." Of course you do. But it didn't matter. We made those 15 minutes count. You know the kind of friends that are just fun no matter what? Even when you're in the middle of a major fail, they are happy as clams? That is exactly these friends. Our girls were giggling and our babies were hugging and it was awesome. On our way home we drove Lucy through some neighborhood lights and she was thrilled. It was no Peacock Lane, but I think it turned out pretty great.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment